This may be one of those way to much information moments, but it took me all day to decide whether or not I should talk about it. I'm going to talk about it, because I want opinions and input, I want your two cents.
So this morning I had a "moment" with my husband. I won't get into all of the glory details, but we will just call it a "moment".
After our "moment" this morning, my husband asked me why didn't I look at him. I thought about it for a minute and I got really sad. I know that I glanced at him a few times or another, but it wasn't a stare in your eyes, I Love You type of "moment". So I felt horrible. All I could think about was my hair.
Before my Big Chop I had a good length of hair, and any time we were having a "moment," I knew my hair looked great. It would fall into place from it's wrap, stick to my face or his face, but it still looked good. Or if I passed on the wrap my hair up for the night, I knew a ponytail would look just as nice. Not to mention I knew my husband loved my hair.
Well this morning I did not feel so Va Va Va Voom! My teeny weeny afro was dry, matted, and flat on one side. And even if I did get up to pick out my fro, it would just get flattened again while in the "moment." What is a girl to do, I want to look good in the "moment", I'm a little OK with looking messed up afterwards.
And he says of course, "I don't care about that, you are beautiful." Of course I was like awww, but you really don't have a choice but to say that LOL!! I knew he meant it!!! So why can I feel so fly, rocking my curls or afro in the day, knowing I'm the "shut your mouth!" But this morning, I was so insecure about my short, matted, dry hair while in the "moment" with my husband. I should still feel fly with my natural self.
So what's your thoughts?

I wish I could help, honestly i wear my satin bonnet aka granny rag every night. Yea I know ur thinking even in the moment-yes ma'am. My hair is super dry so its always on. But I find that my husband still gives me the googly eyes with my twa. I doubt he even cares abt ur hair in that moment he is loving u, & w/ that ur hair. Ur fly to him w/ ur twa, morning breath & crusty eyes LOL, a lil overboard but u get my point.
ReplyDeleteEleisha, I love it, especially your husband giving you the goolgy eyes (smiling)!!!! I am very sure that it's my own insecurities (sad face). As soon as I get over them I can admire my husband's "googly eyes" no matter how I look!!! Thank you!!!!
ReplyDelete